FACT: The Easter Holiday has Parts

The Easter holiday is not reserved to one day for Christians.  This season marks the gift of our salvation and is celebrated and reflected upon for 47 days starting with Ash Wednesday.  I have divulged a little blurb about each significant day here but will go more in depth throughout the season as I dig deeper into the history and meaning of each day.

Ash Wednesday:  February 13

The first day of lent. 

Good Friday:  March 29

The day that signifies Jesus’ death on the cross and the beginning of the three day waiting period for his rising.  It is called “Good” Friday because it is the day Jesus gave us the hope of salvation by sacrificing himself for our sins.

Easter Sunday:  March 31

The day that signifies Jesus’ rising from the dead.  This is the day responsible for our hope in our salvation.